The art gallery at the site of the Norman Cross Napoleonic prisoner-of-war camp provides the venue for this special concert featuring the solo cello of Cara Berridge.

Cara Berridge is a well-known British cellist and one of the founder members of the Sacconi Quartet, one of the UK’s best loved string quartets. She plays a Nicolaus Gagliano cello from 1781, generously loaned by the Royal Society of Musicians. 

A prosecco and strawberry reception from 5pm will welcome guests to the site, with the concert beginning at 6pm.


  1. J.S. Bach – Cello Suite No.3 in C BWV.1009
  2. Gaspar Cassadó – Preludio-Fantasia from Suite for Solo Cello
  3. J.S. Bach – Allemande, Sarabande and Gigue from Cello Suite No.2 in D minor BWV.1008
  4. Pablo Casals – ‘The Song of the Birds’ (Catalan Folk Song) arr. Beamish
  5. Antonín Dvořák– Humoresque

The concert lasts for approximately 1 hour.


7.30pm Saturday 15 June 2024


Church of Giles Church, Holme, Cambridgeshire
Brother Tree Sound (string quartet) and Ben Goldscheider (horn)

  1. Beethoven – String Quartet in F minor Op.95 ‘Serioso’
  2. Fribbins – ‘The Fens’ for horn and strings (world premiere)
  3. Glazunov – Idyll and Serenade for horn and strings Op.11
  4. Mendelssohn – String Quartet in A minor Op.13

The string quartet Brother Tree Sound (Anna de Bruin, Thea Spiers, Peter Mallinson and Julia Graham) is joined by the celebrated horn player Ben Goldscheider in a concert of nineteenth-century classics and a world premiere. The family of British composer Peter Fribbins has had a long association with the villages around Peterborough and especially Holme. His grandfather was born in the village in 1911, his great-grandmother formed part of the choir on the ‘floating church’ in the 1890s, and his three times great-grandfather was publican of the Admiral Wells in the 1860s. Fribbins’s new quintet ‘The Fens’ draws upon this history, in movements that reflect on the medieval splendour of Peterborough Cathedral, the Great Northern Railway carving its way through the fenland landscape, and the rich legacy of St Withburga’s, the floating church. Famous string quartets by Beethoven and Mendelssohn frame the new work, as well as a beautiful quintet for horn and strings by Alexander Glazunov.

7.30pm Saturday 25 May 2024


Church of St Nicholas, Glatton, Cambridgeshire
Martin Cousin (piano)

  1. Beverley Nichols – The Shadow Prelude
  2. Rachmaninov – Prelude in G# minor Op.32 no.12
  3. Rachmaninov – Moment Musical in B minor Op.16 no.3
  4. Demessieux – Chorale Preludes ‘Rorate Caeli’
  5. Elgar – In Smyrna
  6. Delius – Walk to the Paradise Garden (arr. Perry)
  7. Beverley Nichols – Etude in Db
  8. Chopin – Nocturne in Eb Op.9 no.2
  9. Chopin – Ballade no. 3 in Ab Op.47

One of Glatton’s most famous residents was the English writer Beverley Nichols. Born in the late 1890s, he was one of the ‘bright young things’ in the 1920s and many London Society celebrities visited his Glatton home. As well as a writer he was also passionate about music, and a keen pianist. This piano recital, given by famous British pianist Martin Cousin, is based on the music Beverley Nichols chose for a BBC Desert Island Discs programme in 1955. As well as famous works by Rachmaninov, Elgar and Chopin, the concert also features two of his own works for piano, in rare first performances of these works in modern times.

Fenlandia would like to thank Rev. Becky Dyball and Church Warden John Piggot for their assistance and to Terry Brignall MBE for his advice on the works of Beverley Nichols.